featured REVIEW

Koss Born To Live Below System • 2017

The biggest ode to hip-hop this year comes from Belgium.

Excuse our chauvinism. But 'Born To Live' bundles stories and anecdotes about how it all started way back when, told by front-row witnesses. The all-New York line-up is impressive: master storytellers Large Pro, Masta Ace and Craig G relive early memories and breakthroughs in hip-hop. And the list goes further; icon Marley Marl, veteran Blaq Poet, underground fav J-Live, the great Keith Murray, young lion RusteeJuxx and Brooklyn mainstay Torae ('why bringing nineties back if I can take it.').

It seems like Belgian producer Koss has managed to tick off all the names on his list of favourite rappers. And if not featured, they are there through samples. Common and Big Pun for instance. The guest list represents our record collection from back in the nineties: PHD (Blaq Poet), Main Source (Large Pro) and Marley Marl's 'In Control vol. 1', records that introduced us to the wonderful art of hip-hop.

Koss production isn't pushed back by the impressive line-up: well-chosen loops (triumping and reminiscent), tight drum kicks and lively scratches by Grazzhoppa, well knit with the style and stories of the featured rappers.


POSTED ON 09|22|2017 by cpf

latest reviews

Maylay SparksHood Thrill Hunters2018
ElighLast House On The Block2018
DecaThe Way Through2017