featured REVIEW


VA Art Of Raw EP Earquake Records • 2008

May we introduce to you four Belgian producers from the North Sea coast who pledge allegiance to the flag of Pure Boom Bap? DJ Iron, Chillow, D-Purpose and Eon Green bring to table a collection of five tracks, displaying each producer's sound, and showcasing some of the US's cream of the crop rappers.

From the dazzling piano licks on Chillow's 'Bomb MC', with El Da Sensei braggadociously spitfirin, and Eon Green's 'The Armory' (featuring Soul Purpose) over Iron's eerie string production that introduces three hungry emcees; Nut Rageous (dreamin of the good life like Biggie and Kool G Rap) on 'G-Ride', and El Gant and J Blanco on 'Ultimate High' to D-Purpose's spacious beat that perfectly matches Insight's agile way of rhymin on 'What's The Reason', the EP is a collection of songs that breathe craftsmanship and devotion.

Only released on vinyl and with a boombap drum machine-sound, Earquake's first release proves to be made by purists with a warm heart for the culture, at the same time putting Belgium on the map again. Orders here: info@earquakerecords.com.

POSTED ON 09|28|2008 by cpf

latest reviews

Maylay SparksHood Thrill Hunters2018
ElighLast House On The Block2018
DecaThe Way Through2017